With DiaryBook, communication with the client can be two-way. The user has the option of enabling the client to confirm or cancel appointments from their appointment reminder messages.

Appointment Confirmation Status

Each appointment in DiaryBook has a confirmation status. The confirmation status is a way for the user to track whether clients have confirmed their intention to attend the appointment or not. The confirmation status is shown visually as an icon in the appointments tab.

Text Message Confirmations

The client can be asked to reply to a text message reminder to confirm their attendance. When the client replies, DiaryBook searches through a list of keywords to determine whether the client is confirming attendance or notifying the user of a problem.

The user can also see a list of replies received as a visual manual check and can override the confirmation status of an appointment.

Text Message Keywords

DiaryBook comes with some basic keywords embedded. For example:

okConfirming appointment
yesConfirming appointment
see you thenConfirming appointment
cannotCancelling appointment
sorryCancelling appointment
noCancelling appointment
unsureTentative
lateTentative

The user can add their own keywords to improve DiaryBook's ability to recognise when a client is confirming and when not. Keywords can be found embedded in a longer message or represent the entire message.

Email Reminder Confirmations

The email reminder can be embedded with Internet hyperlinks affording the client the ability to confirm their appointments by the click of a mouse. The user can optionally enable the client to reply to the emails but these replies are not processed by DiaryBook and would require the user to use their own client email software to manage them.

Appointment Status History

Each client in DiaryBook has an appointment history and with confirmation status management the user can get an overview of a client's history of attendance. It is for historical purposes that status such as Did Not Attend and History of DNA are included. These can only be applied by the user.